Schmitt Music is a valued partner of MacPhail Center for Music and operates throughout the entire Midwest. Schmitt is one of the nation’s premier sellers of musical products and their reputation for high quality music and service goes all the way back to 1896.

Visit their site to learn more:
http://www.schmittmusic.com

 

BRASS

Instruments 
Schmitt Music–Brooklyn Center http://www.schmittmusic.com/
Trombone Shop–Keith Hilson (Trombonist/Low Brass Specialist) 763-566-4560
http://www.schmittmusic.com/band-orchestra/trombone-shop.php
Trumpet Shop–Mark Bobnick (Trumpet Specialist) 763-398-5018
http://www.schmittmusic.com/band-orchestra/trumpet-shop.php

Repair
John Maddox (trombonist/repairman) 763-999-0174
Mad Dog Instrument Repair www.maddoginstrumentrepair.com/

Sheet Music and Accessories

Hickey’s Music Center http://www.hickeys.com/
Horn Guys http://www.hornguys.com/
Mouthpiece Express http://www.mouthpieceexpress.com
Sheet Music Plus (Sheet music)  http://www.sheetmusicplus.com

 

CLARINET AND SAXOPHONE

Repair or Purchase

Cadenza Music, St. Paul http://www.cadenzamusic.com/
Cindy Budd, St. Louis Park  http://www.cindybudd.com/
Davenport Repair Shops, in Schmitt Music, Brooklyn Center, Doug Kuehn dav.rep@gmail.com
Jeanne Inc, Ham Lake, MN (Clarinet) http://jeanne-inc.com/
Schmitt Music, Brooklyn Center, Pro Shop for Clarinet and Sax http://www.schmittmusic.com/
Schmitt Music, Brooklyn Center/Doug Kuehn with
Dave Dzubay, Timbre Brass and Woodwinds, Como area  651-641-8684

 

Sheet Music

Groth Music, Bloomington https://www.grothmusic.com/
Jeanne Inc, Ham Lake, MN  http://jeanne-inc.com/
JW Pepper Music, MacPhail Rep, Evan Peterson epeterso@jwpepper.com
Luyben Music, Kansas City, MO http://www.luybenmusic.com/
Schmitt Music, Brooklyn Center http://www.schmittmusic.com/

 

Reeds, mouthpieces and other accessories on line

Jeanne Inc, Ham Lake, MN http://jeanne-inc.com/
Muncy Winds, North Carolina http://www.muncywinds.com/
The Woodwind and Brasswind, Indiana http://www.wwbw.com/

 

Online sheet music, out of copyright

The Clarinet Institute  http://www.clarinetinstitute.com/
International Music Score Library Project  http://imslp.org/

 

 

COMPOSITION

Professional Composer Organizations
American Composers Forum (https://composersforum.org/)
New Music USA (https://www.newmusicusa.org/)

 

Young Composer Programs & Opportunities
Schubert Club Composer Mentorship for h.s. students: apply by June 1st
Minnesota Sinfonia Orchestra Young Composers’s Competition: submit piece by June 10th, 2015
MMTA State Composition Contest: (grades 1 – 12): submit piece by March 1st through an MMTA teacher.
NFMC Junior Composers Competition: (grades K – 12): submit piece by January 15.
MPR Minnesota Varsity Competition: (for h.s. students): check MPR website.

 

Performing Rights Organizations

American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers (ASCAP): http://www.ascap.com/
BMI: http://www.bmi.com/
SESAC: http://www.sesac.com/

 

Composer Tools

Muse Score (Notation Software): https://musescore.org/
Finale (Notation Software): http://www.finalemusic.com/
Sibelius (Notation Software): http://www.avid.com/US/products/family/sibelius
Noteflight (Online Notation Software): https://www.noteflight.com/login

 

Websites

musictheory.net: Music Theory exercises
http://imslp.org/: Downloadable scores for study
http://andrewhugill.com/manuals/intro.html: A Users Manual to the Orchestra
http://www.blanksheetmusic.net/: Blank Sheet Music

 

 

FLUTE
Rent or Buy
Cincinnati Fluteworks  http://www.fluteworks.com/
Groth Music (for rental of Jupiter Prodigy) http://www.grothmusic.com/)

 

Repair
Katie Lowry  http://katiesfluteshop.com/
Dave Dzubay, Timbre Brass and Woodwinds, Como area  651-641-8684
Sheet Music

Fluteworld www.fluteworld.com
Honeysuckel Music www.honeysuckelmusic.com

 

GUITAR

Instrument purchase:
Gringo Star Guitars www.gringostarguitar.com

Books and sheet music:
Cadenza Music in St. Paul http://www.cadenzamusic.com/

Instrument Purchase, repair, accessories, sheet music:
Brickhouse Music in River Falls, WI http://www.brickhousemusic.com/
Capitol Guitars in St. Paul http://www.capitolguitars.com/
The Good Guys Electronic repair (amps, electric keyboards, etc (651) 292-9165 (no website)
Hoffman Guitars (guitars, electric bass) http://www.hoffmanguitars.com/
Podium Music, Minneapolis www.thepodium.com

 

Sheet Music:

Hickey’s Music www.hickeys.com
My Music Store http://guitartoss.com/mymusic/
The Podium www.thepodium.com

 

HARP 

Groth Music  www.grothmusic.com
Hobgoblin Music  www.hobgoblin-usa.com
Kolacny Music www.kolacnymusic.com
Lyon and Healy West www.harp.com
Sylvia Woods Harp Center www.harpcenter.com
Vanderbilt Music  www.vanderbiltmusic.com

  

PERCUSSION:

Rental or Purchase

Marimbarental.com: www.marimbarental.com (10% discount for MacPhail students)
Larry Barnhart Percussion Services Rental/Repair 651-649-1454 

Repair

Larry Barnhart Percussion Services Rental/Repair 651-649-1454 (no website)

Accessories

Groth Music, Bloomington, Mn: www.grothmusic.com
Steve Weiss Music, Philadelphia: www.steveweissmusic.com

 

Sheet music

Groth Music, Bloomington, Mn: www.grothmusic.com
Steve Weiss Music, Philadelphia: www.steveweissmusic.com

 

PIANO

Purchase and Sheet Music

Bodines Pianos & Keyboard Ctrs www.bodinespianos.com
Jim Laabs Pianos www.jimlaabspianos.com
Metropolitan Piano Gallery  952-841-0057 (no website)
Music Connection Pianos  www.connectwithmusic.com
Schmitt Music Centers  www.schmittmusic.com

Music Scores and Sheet Music

Groth Music www.grothmusic.com
J.W. Pepper www.pianoatpepper.com
Schmitt Music Centers  www.schmittmusic.com 

Tuning

Martin Mikus   952.924.0412
Sean Farley   612.927.7649

 

STRINGS:  Violins, Violas, Cellos and String Basses

Local

All Strings Attached www.allstringsattached.com
Claire Givens Violins, Inc.  www.givensviolins.com
Dahl Violin Shop  612-339-4800 (no website)
House of Note  www.houseofnote.com
John Waddle  www.maestronet.com/waddle
Quinn Violins  www.quinnviolins.com

National
(Many national shops will ship instruments to you for trial. Consult individual websites for details.)

Johnson String Instruments  www.johnsonstring.com
Reuning & Son Violins  www.reuning.com
William Harris Lee & Co.  www.whlee.com
Recordings and Sheet Music
Shar Products Company www.sharmusic.com
Southwest Strings www.swstrings.com
Young Musicians www.ymonline.com

 

VOICE

Sheet Music 

Local

www.grothmusic.com
www.jwpepper.com
www.schmittmusic.com

Online Stores

www.musicnotes.com
www.sheetmusicplus.com
www.onlinesheetmusic.com
www.halleonard.com
www.alfred.com