Course - Minneapolis - Fall 2022

MacPhail Community Youth Choir (MCYC)

Tuition
$0.00
Register Now

Tuition: FREE!

The MacPhail Community Youth Choir (MCYC) brings together youth in grades 6-12 throughout the Twin Cities area for music and friendship. The choir is led by Twin Cities artist J.D. Steele, of the famous Steele Family, who brings his dynamic style and passion for music to the group, which is free and open to students of all skill levels and talents. This group of energetic young people performs many styles of music including jazz, gospel, pop and East African.

MCYC performs at exciting events and venues throughout the Twin Cities such as Diversity Days at Target Field, The Civil Society Superbowl Safety Party for Youth at the Cedar Cultural Center, Governor Dayton’s Inauguration, and as an opening act for former Secretary of State Condoleezza Rice’s lecture at Northrup Auditorium. A thrilling highlight for the choir in 2012 was the opportunity to perform at the Flint Hills International Children’s Festival with Shangilia, a youth performance group from Nairobi, Kenya also under the direction of Steele. This exciting international project provide the MCYC youth the opportunity to engage with the youth choir in Kenya on a cultural and artistic level.

Weekly rehearsals are held at the Capri Theater in North Minneapolis on Saturdays from 10:00-12:00, starting September 17.

To learn how you can be a part of MCYC, contact Jon Iverson at 612.767.5506 or iverson.jon@macphail.org

Weekly rehearsals are held at the Capri Theater in North Minneapolis on Saturdays from 10:00-12:00, starting September 17.

Sat, Sep 17, 202210:00 AM2 hours
Sat, Sep 24, 202210:00 AM2 hours
Sat, Oct 1, 202210:00 AM2 hours
Sat, Oct 8, 202210:00 AM2 hours
Sat, Oct 15, 202210:00 AM2 hours
Sat, Oct 22, 202210:00 AM2 hours
Sat, Oct 29, 202210:00 AM2 hours
Sat, Nov 5, 202210:00 AM2 hours
Sat, Nov 12, 202210:00 AM2 hours
Sat, Nov 19, 202210:00 AM2 hours
Sat, Dec 3, 202210:00 AM2 hours
Sat, Dec 10, 202210:00 AM2 hours
Sat, Dec 17, 202210:00 AM2 hours
Sat, Jan 7, 202310:00 AM2 hours
Sat, Jan 14, 202310:00 AM2 hours
Sat, Jan 21, 202310:00 AM2 hours
Course Details
Semester: Fall 2022
Register by: 2022-09-17
Starts: 2022-09-17
Ends: 2023-01-21
Location: Minneapolis
Age Range: 10 years - 18 years
Course Type: Ensemble
Department: Group Instruction
Program Method: Ensembles
Categories: Ensembles, Choral Programs
Topic: Choir
Instrument: Voice
To Top
Search