McKnight Artist Fellowships Logo

McKnight Fellowships for Musicians

Application: Applications currently closed

Final Auditions: Friday, May 4th, 2018


How to Apply Workshop from 2017

Upcoming How to Apply Seminars
December 17, 2017 from 12-2 p.m.
MacPhail Center for Music, Room 124, 501 South 2nd St, Minneapolis

January 9, 2018 from 6:30-8:30 p.m.
Springboard for the Arts, 308 Prince Street, Suite 270, St. Paul

Founded on the belief that Minnesota thrives when its artists thrive, The McKnight Foundation’s arts program is one of the oldest and largest of its kind in the country. Support for individual working Minnesota artists has been a cornerstone of the program since it began in 1981. The McKnight Artist Fellowships Program provides annual, unrestricted cash awards to outstanding mid-career Minnesota artists in 10 different creative disciplines.

Program partner organizations administer the fellowships and structure them to respond to the unique challenges of different disciplines. Currently the foundation contributes about $1.7 million per year to its statewide fellowships. For more information, visit

The fellowship annually awards $25,000 fellowships to four Minnesota musicians. The awards are unrestricted and can help an artist set aside periods of time for study, reflection, experimentation, and exploration; take advantage of an opportunity; or work on a new project.

The McKnight Fellowships for Musicians are intended to reward performing musicians with a distinctive musical voice who have had a significant performing career over a period of time and are at a career stage beyond emerging. The McKnight Musician Fellowships are committed to honoring the breadth of Minnesota Musicians of all genres; aesthetically, geographically, and culturally.

If you are a performing musician in any genre, MacPhail Center for Music invites you to apply for a McKnight Fellowship for Musicians.

See the 2018-2019 McKnight Fellowship Recipient Press Release