collage of cutout photos

Music For Change: Protest music through centuries and across continents

Date: Sat Oct 24 2020

1 Hour Archived Performance

Location: MacPhail Live Online

Part 1
Soojung Hong, piano

Marches op. 76, #2 and #4 (Robert Schumann)

Part 2
PaviElle French, vocals
Chris Rochester, sax
Omar Abdulkarim, trumpet
Jacob Dodd, piano
Greg Byers, bass
Arthur LA Buckner, drums

1. Someday We’ll All Be Free (Donny Hathaway)
2. To Be Young, Gifted and Black (Weldon Irvine, Nina Simone)
3. Everything is Everything (Lauryn Hill)

Part 3
Performers Saltee
Terrell Woods (aka Carnage), beatbox
Jacqueline Ultan, cello
Mike Michel, guitar

1. Saltee Medley: Ball of Confusion (Temptations; Norman Whitfield & Barrett Strong) Rebel Without A Pause /Fight the Power (Public Enemy)
2. Saltee Medley: Hustle the Struggle (written by Carnage)/Killing in the Name (Rage Against the Machine)
3. One Tribe (The Black-Eyed Peas)
4. Election Day (Saltee)

Part 4
All Spotlight performers, plus
David Leung, violin
Ashley Ng, violin
Chi-Chi Bestmann, viola

A Change Is Gonna Come – Sam Cooke, arranged by Chris Rochester

To Top