Schmitt Music is a valued partner of MacPhail Center for Music and operates stores throughout the entire Midwest. Schmitt Music’s vision is the same today as it was in 1896 – to help customers become “music makers for life.”

The family-owned and operated business is 100% committed to best-in-class levels of customer service and expertise. You’ll find the best brands and a great selection of band & orchestra instruments, pianos & keyboards, accessories, sheet music & books, and convenient in-store repair services. Visit their site to learn more: https://www.schmittmusic.com

 

BRASS

Instruments 

Schmitt Music Trombone Shop – Keith Hilson, Trombone & Low Brass Specialist
https://www.schmittmusic.com/tromboneshop

Schmitt Music Trumpet Shop – Laura Saylor, Trumpet Specialist
https://www.schmittmusic.com/trumpetshop

Repair

Schmitt Music – https://www.schmittmusic.com/repair
John Maddox (trombonist/repairman) 763-999-0174
Mad Dog Instrument Repair

Sheet Music and Accessories

Schmitt Music stores or online – https://shop.schmittmusic.com
Hickey’s Music Center http://www.hickeys.com/
Horn Guys http://www.hornguys.com/
Mouthpiece Express http://www.mouthpieceexpress.com
Sheet Music Plus (Sheet music)  http://www.sheetmusicplus.com

 

CLARINET AND SAXOPHONE

Repair or Purchase

Davenport Instrument Repair at Schmitt Music Brooklyn Center – Doug Kuehn, https://www.schmittmusic.com/repair
Cadenza Music, St. Paul http://www.cadenzamusic.com/
Midwest Music Imports, Minneapolis https://www.mmimports.com/
Cindy Budd, St. Louis Park  http://www.cindybudd.com/
Jeanne Inc, Ham Lake, MN (Clarinet) http://jeanne-inc.com/
Dave Dzubay, Timbre Brass and Woodwinds, Como area  651-641-8684
Schmitt Music Saxophone Shop – Dave Strong, Saxophone Specialist, https://www.schmittmusic.com/saxshop

 

Sheet Music

Groth Music, Bloomington https://www.grothmusic.com/
Jeanne Inc, Ham Lake, MN  http://jeanne-inc.com/
JW Pepper Music, MacPhail Rep, Evan Peterson epeterso@jwpepper.com
Luyben Music, Kansas City, MO http://www.luybenmusic.com/
Schmitt Music stores or online – https://shop.schmittmusic.com

 

Reeds, mouthpieces and other accessories on line

Schmitt Music Saxophone Shop online – https://shop.schmittmusic.com
Jeanne Inc, Ham Lake, MN http://jeanne-inc.com/
Muncy Winds, North Carolina http://www.muncywinds.com/
The Woodwind and Brasswind, Indiana http://www.wwbw.com/

 

Online sheet music, out of copyright

The Clarinet Institute  http://www.clarinetinstitute.com/
International Music Score Library Project  http://imslp.org/

 

 

COMPOSITION

Professional Composer Organizations
American Composers Forum https://composersforum.org/
New Music USA https://www.newmusicusa.org/

 

Young Composer Programs & Opportunities
Minnesota Sinfonia Orchestra New Works Competition (Youth Composer Division–under the age of 19): http://www.mnsinfonia.org/competitions/new-works-competition
MMTA State Composition Contest (Various divisions for composers age 5-18): http://www.mtna.org/programs/competitions/
NFMC Junior Composers Competition (Various division for age 9 & under-18): https://www.nfmc-music.org/competitionscategory/junior-composers-awards/
Classical MPR Minnesota Varsity Competition: (for high school students): http://www.classicalmpr.org/topic/minnesota-varsity

 

Performing Rights Organizations

American Society of Composers, Authors, and Publishers (ASCAP): http://www.ascap.com/
BMI: http://www.bmi.com/
SESAC: http://www.sesac.com/

 

Composer Tools

Muse Score (Notation Software): https://musescore.org/
Finale (Notation Software): http://www.finalemusic.com/
Sibelius (Notation Software): http://www.avid.com/US/products/family/sibelius
Noteflight (Online Notation Software): https://www.noteflight.com/login

 

Websites

musictheory.net: Music Theory exercises
http://imslp.org/: Downloadable scores for study
http://andrewhugill.com/manuals/intro.html: A Users Manual to the Orchestra
http://www.blanksheetmusic.net/: Blank Sheet Music

 

 

FLUTE
Rent or Buy

Schmitt Music Flute Gallery – Dr. Rachel E. Haug Root, Flute Specialist, https://www.schmittmusic.com/flutegallery
Cincinnati Fluteworks  http://www.fluteworks.com/
Groth Music (for rental of Jupiter Prodigy) http://www.grothmusic.com/

Repair
Katie Lowry  http://katiesfluteshop.com/
Dave Dzubay, Timbre Brass and Woodwinds, Como area  651-641-8684

Sheet Music
Schmitt Music stores or online – https://shop.schmittmusic.com
Fluteworld www.fluteworld.com
Honeysuckle Music www.honeysucklemusic.com/

 

GUITAR

Instrument purchase:
Gringo Star Guitars www.gringostarguitar.com

Books and sheet music:
Cadenza Music in St. Paul http://www.cadenzamusic.com/

Instrument Purchase, repair, accessories, sheet music:
Brickhouse Music in River Falls, WI http://www.brickhousemusic.com/
Capitol Guitars in St. Paul http://www.capitolguitars.com/
The Good Guys Electronic repair (amps, electric keyboards, etc (651) 292-9165 (no website)
Hoffman Guitars (guitars, electric bass) http://www.hoffmanguitars.com/
Podium Music, Minneapolis www.thepodium.com

 

Sheet Music:

Schmitt Music stores or online – https://shop.schmittmusic.com
Hickey’s Music www.hickeys.com
My Music Store http://guitartoss.com/mymusic/
The Podium www.thepodium.com

 

HARP 

Groth Music  www.grothmusic.com
Hobgoblin Music  www.hobgoblin-usa.com
Kolacny Music www.kolacnymusic.com
Lyon and Healy West www.harp.com
Sylvia Woods Harp Center www.harpcenter.com
Vanderbilt Music  www.vanderbiltmusic.com

  

PERCUSSION:

Rental or Purchase

Marimbarental.com: www.marimbarental.com (10% discount for MacPhail students)
Larry Barnhart Percussion Services Rental/Repair 651-649-1454 

Repair

Larry Barnhart Percussion Services Rental/Repair 651-649-1454 (no website)

Accessories

Groth Music, Bloomington, MN: www.grothmusic.com
Steve Weiss Music, Philadelphia: www.steveweissmusic.com

 

Sheet music

Schmitt Music stores or online – https://shop.schmittmusic.com
Groth Music, Bloomington, MN: www.grothmusic.com
Steve Weiss Music, Philadelphia: www.steveweissmusic.com

 

PIANO

Purchase and Sheet Music

Schmitt Music   https://www.schmittmusic.com/keyboard-piano/
Bodines Pianos & Keyboard Ctrs www.bodinespianos.com
Jim Laabs Pianos www.jimlaabspianos.com
Metropolitan Piano Gallery  952-841-0057 (no website)
Music Connection Pianos  www.connectwithmusic.com

 

Music Scores and Sheet Music

Schmitt Music stores or online – https://shop.schmittmusic.com  or https://www.schmittmusic.com/printmusic
Groth Music www.grothmusic.com
J.W. Pepper www.pianoatpepper.com

Tuning

Martin Mikus   952.924.0412
Sean Farley   612.927.7649

 

STRINGS:  Violins, Violas, Cellos and String Basses

Local

 

Schmitt Music Violin Shop – Nathan Wilson, Specialist; Peter Bingen, Head Luthier, https://www.schmittmusic.com/violinshop
All Strings Attached www.allstringsattached.com
Claire Givens Violins, Inc.  www.givensviolins.com
Dahl Violin Shop  612-339-4800 (no website)
House of Note  www.houseofnote.com
John Waddle  www.maestronet.com/waddle
Quinn Violins  www.quinnviolins.com

National
(Many national shops will ship instruments to you for trial. Consult individual websites for details.)

Johnson String Instruments  www.johnsonstring.com
Reuning & Son Violins  www.reuning.com
William Harris Lee & Co.  www.whlee.com
Recordings and Sheet Music
Shar Products Company www.sharmusic.com
Southwest Strings www.swstrings.com
Young Musicians www.young-musicians.com/

 

VOICE

Sheet Music 

Local

www.grothmusic.com
www.jwpepper.com
www.schmittmusic.com

Online Stores

www.musicnotes.com
www.sheetmusicplus.com
www.onlinesheetmusic.com
www.halleonard.com
www.alfred.com